Posted by: cj | December 1, 2008

Thanksgiving travel woes

I wish I had read Jason’s post before I left the house.

I flew out of Southern California at 11:00 a.m. Nov. 30, and just barely got into Syracuse now. At 10:30 a.m…almost exactly 24 hours later. Ugh.

Needless to say, I was one of those passengers caught up in the bad weather. My connecting flights were delayed by half an hour or so, which didn’t give me too much of a problem because I had about an hour-plus layovers at Denver and Chicago.

But at Chicago O’Hare, we sat on the tarmac for half an hour, waiting for the plane to get de-iced. After that was done, we headed to the line on the runway—only to have the pilot tell us that the plane didn’t have enough fuel so we’d have to go back to the gate to get some, then get de-iced all over again. So we rolled back to the gate and waited about an hour for ground crew to actually tow us up to the gate. The pilot tells us that the fuelers are 30 minutes away. Still no ground crew. By now, it’s snowing pretty hard. After about three hours of sitting on the plane, the pilot “times out,” so our flight is canceled! HOORAY!

Something you won't see in California.

So I spend about two hours in line to get rebooked and the earliest confirmed flight is Tuesday, Dec. 2, 4:15 p.m. I decided to wait standby all day today, and after trying to sleep on dirty floors and in odd positions on uncomfortable chairs, I was very, very lucky to catch the first flight out to Syracuse at 6 a.m. Eighth out of 14 standby passengers, and the last one to make the flight! It’s good to be back.

Leave a Reply

Categories

