Posted by: cj | November 21, 2008

Seeking the supernatural?

Far north along the Oklahoma-Missouri border lies a crumbling road leading to abandoned fields littered with trees. Although not your typical weekend getaway, this road sees occasional traffic as viewers arrive in hopes of witnessing first hand what is still considered one of “America’s greatest mysteries.”

The Hornet Spook Light has been appearing for more than a century, spawning many myths and legends.

The area, also referred to as “The Devil’s Promenade,” houses the century-old enigma known as the Hornet Spook Light. The light, which hovers and bobs hauntingly through the trees, has been known to change colors ranging from a brilliant white to a dark blood red. Once pursued, the light vanishes as quickly as it appeared. It’s about the size of a basketball or larger and has been known to appear inside cars. Locals say the best time to see it is between 10 p.m. and midnight, and it tends to shy away from large groups and loud noises.

It’s supposedly been around for more than 140 years. No one knows what it is, but there are legends saying that it’s the spirit of murdered Native Americans or the ghost of a miner looking for his kidnapped children. Some scientific research suggests that the light is caused by electrical atmospheric charges.

Regardless of what is it, I was pretty skeptical about the light existing at all, until a close friend drove over there to look for it, and found what he was looking for. Here’s his account:

I glanced at the clock – 1:06 AM. I killed the engine, turned off the lights and waited. Nothing. I felt pretty stupid. I sat there in the blackness and stared straight ahead, now able to make out a large field and a clump of trees off in the distance. Minutes passed and soon I realized I was staring at a dot in the distance, about the size of a pin hole. I held my breath. The dot began snaking its way through the trees, weaving in and out in a figure eight pattern and rhythmically changing colors from white to orange. After watching the light for some time, I turned the car on as quietly as possible. I inched my way along the dirt path never taking my eye off the light, which was now the size of a baseball. The light began to vanish. I raced forward now but the mysterious light had vanished.

Now that makes me just a little bit less skeptical. I’m the person who gets dragged to a scary movie and spends the whole time peeking through my fingers or with my sweater over my head, so I’m not about to drive down there and go hunting for some freaky light. But if you do, let me know what happens.

On a side note, here’s Time’s Top 10 Haunted Places.

  1. The Amityville House, Amityville, N.Y.
  2. Eastern State Penitentiary, Philadelphia, Penn.
  3. Edinburgh Castle, Scotland
  4. Gettysburg Battlefield, Penn.
  5. The Myrtles Plantation, St. Francisville, La.
  6. The Queen Mary, Long Beach, Ca.
  7. The Tower of London
  8. The Whaley House, San Diego, Ca.
  9. The White House
  10. The Winchester House, San Jose, Ca.
Responses

  1. The tale of the Hornet Spook Light reminded me of Ghost Light Road in Jacksonville, Fla., that was haunted by an apparent motorcycle rider who had been decapitated along the road. As a teen I saw the “ghost light” one foggy night that could never be explained. A little Web research today turned up a story that the lights were from an adjacent road and after it was configured, the light went away. Though slightly disappointed now to know the truth, you spurred a fun memory. Thanks.


Leave a Reply

Categories

